Our Alumni: 1998-1999

Penelope Allderdice, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland. 

Jorge Daaboul, MD, Division Chief, Pediatric Endocrinology, Department of Pediatrics, Alfred I. DuPont Hospital; Medical Director of the Pediatric Endocrinology, Diebetes and Metabolism Program at the Walt Disney Paviolion at Florida Hospital for Children. 

Kathleen Danielson, JD, PhD, Ethics Consultation. 

Frona Daskal, JD, was the Ethics Program Coordinator for Oak Forest Hospital of Cook County, and a faculty member of The MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics at the University of Chicago. She currently works with the Sinai Community Institute on Chicago’s West Side to provide programs for socially and economically disadvantaged preschool children and their families.

Theodore (Terry) Fleischer, JD, LLM, has been associated with the Bioethics Centre of the University of Cape Town, South Africa, since 1999.  He has served as its Deputy Director, Senior Lecturer in the Medical Faculty and in the Faculty of Law, as well as Associate Director of the International Research Ethics Network for Southern Africa (IRENSA), an NIH-funded research ethics training program serving sub-Saharan Africa. Fleischer was the Distinguished Lecturer in Bioethics at the Santa Clara University Law School in 2011. His research interests are resource allocation, the impact of HIV/AIDS on South Africa’s public health sector, and research ethics.

Walter Glannon, PhD, is Associate Professor of Philosophy at the University of Calgary.

Jennifer Horner Catt, PhD, JD, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Health and Human Services, Ohio University. 

Arundathi Mahendran attended medical school at University College London. She then completed surgical training at the Royal Free Hospital Medical School in London, a Masters in surgical education at Imperial College London, and an Abdominal Transplant Fellowship at Columbia University in Manhattan. She is now completing a PhD in Education at Goldsmith's College, University of London, while working as an attending in the Department of Transplant Srugery at the University of Leicester.

Scott Moses, MD, is Assistant Professor of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. He also holds an appointment in the Medical Humanities and Bioethics Program at Northwestern.

Rudolph Navari, MD, PhD, FACP, is a Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean and Director of Indiana University School of Medicine. He is also the Clinical Director of the Harper Cancer Research Institute.

Bonnie Salomon, MD, Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital; Lecturer, Department of Philosophy. 

Angela Scheuerle, MD, FAAP, FACMG, is a Medical Geneticist at Tesserae Genetics in Dallas, Texas.  She is board certified in Pediatrics, Clinical Genetics, and Clinical Molecular Genetics. In addition to patient care and public health work, Dr. Scheuerle is chair of the Ethics Committee for Medical City Dallas Hospital and is a member of the North Texas Bioethics Network.  She holds an affiliate faculty position at UT Southwestern Medical School where she participates in the ethics program for first and second year students.  Her research areas of interest are in clinical genetics and teratology, and genetic epidemiology.

Katie Watson, JD is an Assistant Professor in the Medical Humanities & Bioethics Program of NorthwesternUniversity's Feinberg School of Medicine, where she is an award-winning teacher of medical students and MA students, a member of the Northwestern Memorial Hospital Ethics Committee, and creator and Editor of the medical humanities and ethics publication Atrium. Watson’s scholarly interests include medical ethics, health law, contraceptive and abortion policy. She is also the creator of “medical improv”—tailoring improvisational theater training techniques to improve clinical communication.

Gary Wright, MD, is Chair of Ethics at St. Vincent's Hospital in Indianapolis, IN.